India Pin Code List, Postal Code/Zip Code of Indian States

India Pincode: Indian Postal department uses unique six digits Postal Index Number(PIN) or Pincode in India. It is allotted to each district/village/town/city for post office numbering in India. It is used to find out delivery Post Offices in India. Find out the list of PIN codes for Indian States and Union territories.

India Pincode By State

Andaman & Nicobar IslandsLakshadweep
Andhra PradeshMadhya Pradesh
Arunachal PradeshMaharashtra
Dadra & Nagar HaveliOdisha
Daman & DiuPuducherry
HaryanaTamil Nadu
Himachal PradeshTelangana
Jammu & KashmirTripura
JharkhandUttar Pradesh
KeralaWest Bengal

About Postal Index Number in India

A Postal Index Number (PIN), or commonly known as PIN code in India. Postal Index Number (PIN) is referred to as a six-digit code in the Indian postal code system used by India Post. A unique six digits long postal code or pin code is allotted to each district/village/town/city to ensure quick delivery of postal services.

The PIN system was introduced on 15 August 1972 by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar, an additional secretary in the Union Ministry of Communications. The system was introduced to simplify the manual sorting and delivery of mail by eliminating confusion over incorrect addresses, similar place names, and different languages used by the public.

Postal zones

There are nine postal zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional zone (for the Indian Army). The first digit of a PIN indicates the zone and is allocated over the 9 zones as follows:

1st digit of PINPostal Zone in India
1Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Chandigarh
2Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8Bihar, Jharkhand
9Army Postal Service (APS), Field Post Office (FPO)

Pin Codes Structure in India


The first digit of a PIN indicates the zone, the second indicates the sub-zone, and the third, combined with the first two, indicates the sorting district within that zone. The final three digits are assigned to individual post offices within the sorting district.

Disclaimer: India Postal Codes data has been sourced from India Post’s official website. We have tried to provide the latest and accurate data for India Postal offices and pin codes. For any suggestion or correction mail us at contestchacha[@]

Leave a Comment