Indian Railway Zones and Headquarters

Indian Railways is operated under the ownership of Ministry of Railways and Government of India. It is the fourth largest national railway system in the world by size. The Indian Railways system divides its operations into 19 zones and further sub-divided into 70 divisions. Each Indian Railways zones is having a divisional headquarters.

Indian Railways Zones and Divisions
Indian Railways Zones and Divisions

List of Indian Railway Zones Codes and Headquarters

The 19 Indian Railway zones and its code with their Headquarters are listed below:

Railway zoneZone CodeZone headquarters
Central RailwayCRMumbai CSMT
East Central RailwayECRHajipur
East Coast RailwayECoRBhubaneswar
Eastern RailwayERFairlie Place, Kolkata
Konkan RailwayKRNavi Mumbai
Metro Railway, KolkataMTPKolkata
North Central RailwayNCRPrayagraj
North Eastern RailwayNERGorakhpur
North Western RailwayNWRJaipur
Northeast Frontier RailwayNFRMaligaon, Guwahati
Northern RailwayNRDelhi
South Central RailwaySCRSecunderabad Junction
South Coast RailwaySCoRVisakhapatnam
South East Central RailwaySECRBilaspur
South Eastern RailwaySERGarden Reach, Kolkata
South Western RailwaySWRHubballi
Southern RailwaySRChennai Central
West Central RailwayWCRJabalpur
Western RailwayWRMumbai (Churchgate)

Indian Railway Zones and Headquarters FAQs

Which city has the most Zonal Headquarters of Indian Railways?

Kolkata has most Zonal Headquarters of Indian Railways having the headquarters of South Eastern zone, Metro Railway, Eastern Zone and Kolkata.

How many zones are there in Indian railway?

There are a total of 19 zones in Indian railway

How many divisions are there in Indian Railway System?

There are a total of 70 Divisions under 19 zones on Indian Railway System.

Where are the headquarters of Indian Railways?

The headquarters of Indian Railways is New Delhi.

Leave a Comment