List of Chief Justice of India [Updated]

Department of Justice is a part of Ministry of Law & Justice as per the Allocation of Business Rules of Government of India. It is one of the oldest Departments of Govt. of India and was under the administrative control of the Ministry of Home Affairs. Union Home Secretary has been the Secretary of Department of Justice till 31st December 2009. Keeping in view the increasing workload and formulating many policies and programmes for Judicial Reforms in the country, Secretary (Justice) was appointed on 1st January, 2010 in the Ministry of Law & Justice.

The secretariat of the Department is located in Jaisalmer House, New Delhi. The Organisational setup includes four Joint Secretaries, six Directors/Deputy Secretaries and seven Under Secretaries. The functions of the Department of Justice include the appointment, resignation and removal of the Chief Justice of India, Judges of the Supreme Court of India, Chief Justices and Judges of the High Courts and their service matters. In addition, The Department implements important schemes for Infrastructure Development of Subordinate Judiciary, the E-court Project on computerization of various courts across the country, Legal Aid to Poor and Access to Justice. The working of Department of Justice as per Allocation of Business Rule 1961 is given in Allocation Of Business Rules 1961.

Chief Justice of India List -(1950 – 2020)

Chief Justice of India NameDate Of Appointment as Chief Justice of IndiaHeld Office Till
Honorable Mr. Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania26 January 195006 November 1951
Honorable Mr. Justice M. Patanjali Sastri07 November 195103 January 1954
Honorable Mr. Justice Mehr Chand Mahajan04 January 195422 December 1954
Honorable Mr. Justice Bijan Kumar Mukherjea23 December 195431 January 1956
Honorable Mr. Justice Sudhi Ranjan Das01 February 195630 September 1959
Honorable Mr. Justice Bhuvneshwar Prasad Sinha01 October 195931 January 1964
Honorable Mr. Justice P.B. Gajendragadkar01 February 196415 March 1966
Honorable Mr. Justice A.K. Sarkar16 March 196629 June 1966
Honorable Mr. Justice K. Subba Rao30 June 196611 April 1967
Honorable Mr. Justice K.N. Wanchoo12 April 196724 February 1968
Honorable Mr. Justice M. Hidayatullah25 February 196816 December 1970
Honorable Mr. Justice J.C. Shah17 December 197021 January 1971
Honorable Mr. Justice S.M. Sikri22 January 197125 April 1973
Honorable Mr. Justice A.N. Ray26 April 197328 January 1977
Honorable Mr. Justice M. Hameedullah Beg29 January 197721 February 1978
Honorable Mr. Justice Y.V. Chandrachud22 February 197811 July 1985
Honorable Mr. Justice P.N. Bhagwati12 July 198520 December 1986
Honorable Mr. Justice R.S. Pathak21 December 198618 June 1989
Honorable Mr. Justice E.S. Venkataramiah19 June 198917 December 1989
Honorable Mr. Justice Sabyasachi Mukherjee18 December 198925 September 1990
Honorable Mr. Justice Ranganath Misra25 September 199024 November 1991
Honorable Mr. Justice K.N. Singh25 November 199112 December 1991
Honorable Mr. Justice M.H. Kania13 December 199117 November 1992
Honorable Mr. Justice L.M. Sharma18 November 199211 February 1993
Honorable Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah12 February 199324 October 1994
Honorable Mr. Justice A.M. Ahmadi25 October 199424 March 1997
Honorable Mr. Justice J.S. Verma25 March 199717 January 1998
Honorable Mr. Justice M.M. Punchhi18 January 199809 October 1998
Honorable Dr. Justice A.S. Anand10 October 199831 October 2001
Honorable Mr. Justice S.P. Bharucha01 November 200105 May 2002
Honorable Mr. Justice B.N. Kirpal06 May 200207 November 2002
Honorable Mr. Justice G.B. Pattanaik08 November 200218 December 2002
Honorable Mr. Justice V.N. Khare19 December 200201 May 2004
Honorable Mr. Justice S. Rajendra Babu02 May 200431 May 2004
Honorable Mr. Justice R.C. Lahoti01 June 200431 October 2005
Honorable Mr. Justice Y.K. Sabharwal01 November 200513 January 2007
Hon’ble Mr. Justice K.G. Balakrishnan14 January 200711 May 2010
Hon’ble Mr. Justice S.H. Kapadia12 May 201028 September 2012
Hon’ble Mr. Justice Altamas Kabir29 September 201218 July 2013
Hon’ble Mr. Justice P. Sathasivam19 July 201326 April 2014
Hon’ble Mr. Justice R. M. Lodha27 April 201427 September 2014
Hon’ble Mr. Justice H.L. Dattu28 September 201402 December 2015
Hon’ble Mr. T. S. Thakur 03 December 201503 January 2017
Hon’ble Mr. Jagdish Singh Khehar04 January 201727 August 2017
Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dipak Misra 28 August 2017 02 October 2018
Hon’ble Mr. Ranjan Gogoi (incumbent)3 October 2018 17 November 2019
Hon’ble Mr. Sharad Arvind Bobde18 November 2019 23 April 2021
Hon’ble Mr. Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana24 April 2021Incumbent

Chief Justice of India is the head of the judiciary system in India. The Honourable President of India appointed the Chief Justice of India/Supreme Court of India. There have been 47 Chief justices in India till date. The present Chief Justice of India is Mr. Sharad Arvind Bobde and is the 47th CJI since it was established on 26 January 1950. He took the office of Chief Justice of India and succeeded Justice Ranjan Gogoi on 18 November 2019.

Sharad Arvind Bobde is a former Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court and is also serving as the Chancellor of the University of Delhi and Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur.

Chief justice in India is appointed by the president of India. He consults judges of the High Court and Supreme Court and makes a decision based on the information given. The Chief Justice of India can hold the office up to the age of 65 years.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment