Nobel Prize 2013: List of Nobel Prize Winners 2013

Nobel Prize is considered as the most prestigious awards in the whole world. These awards are given every year in 6 regions.

The Nobel Prizes were established in 1895, according to the will of chemist Alfred Nobel. Alfred Nobel was born on 21 October 1833 in Sweden. Alfred was a chemist and engineer. He invented an explosive called dynamite.

Inspired by the aspirations of human interest, he used his funds to set up the Nobel Foundation, which annually awards prizes to those who work best in the fields of physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and peace.

Alfred wrote in his will that all his money be transferred to the Nobel Foundation and the Nobel Prize should be given from these money. The Nobel Foundation was established in 1900. Each Nobel Prize is awarded by a separate committee.

Nobel prize winners are given a medal, a certificate and a cash award of about Rs 7 crore 22 lakh (when multiple people win a single Nobel, they typically split the cash award.)

The Nobel Prize is given every year in 6 fields (Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics) to those who have worked towards enhancing human welfare. The first prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics in 1901.

The first Nobel Prize was given in 1901 in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Peace. The first Nobel Prize was awarded to Wilhelm Conrad Rautzen in the field of Physics, Jacobus Henriques Want Hoff in the field of Chemistry, Imil von Behring in the field of Medicine, Sully Prudhomme in the field of literature and Henry Dunant in the field of Peace.

Nobel Prize Winners 2013

Between 1901 and 2017, 585 Nobel Prizes have been given to 923 people. Till now 9 Indians or people of Indian origin have received Nobel Prize and Rabindra Nath Tagore was the first Indian to receive Nobel Prize.

2013 Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 was awarded to François Englert (Belgium) and Peter Higgs (UK) “for predicting the existence of the Higgs boson particle that explains how elementary matter attained the mass to form stars and planets.”

2013 Nobel Prize in Medicine

Jointly to James E. Rothman (U.S.), Randy W. Schekman (U.S.), and Thomas C. Südhof (Germany) for “their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells”

2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 was awarded jointly “for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems”.

2013 Nobel Prize in Peace

The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons for “its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons.”

2013 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Eugene F.Fama (University of Chicago), Lars Peter Hansen (University of Chicago), Robert J. Shiller (Yale University)

2013 Nobel Prize in Literature

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2013 was awarded to Alice Munro for “master of the contemporary short story”.

Leave a Comment