Nobel Prize 2014: List of Nobel Prize Winners 2014

Nobel Prize is considered as the most prestigious awards in the whole world. These awards are given every year in 6 regions.

The Nobel Prizes were established in 1895, according to the will of chemist Alfred Nobel. Alfred Nobel was born on 21 October 1833 in Sweden. Alfred was a chemist and engineer. He invented an explosive called dynamite. Inspired by the aspirations of human interest, he used his funds to set up the Nobel Foundation, which annually awards prizes to those who work best in the fields of physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and peace.

Alfred wrote in his will that all his money be transferred to the Nobel Foundation and the Nobel Prize should be given from these money. The Nobel Foundation was established in 1900. Each Nobel Prize is awarded by a separate committee.

Nobel prize winners are given a medal, a certificate and a cash award of about Rs 7 crore 22 lakh (when multiple people win a single Nobel, they typically split the cash award.)

The Nobel Prize is given every year in 6 fields (Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics) to those who have worked towards enhancing human welfare. The first prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics in 1901.

The first Nobel Prize was given in 1901 in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Peace. The first Nobel Prize was awarded to Wilhelm Conrad Rautzen in the field of Physics, Jacobus Henriques Want Hoff in the field of Chemistry, Imil von Behring in the field of Medicine, Sully Prudhomme in the field of literature and Henry Dunant in the field of Peace.

Nobel Prize Winners 2014

Between 1901 and 2017, 585 Nobel Prizes have been given to 923 people. Till now 9 Indians or people of Indian origin have received Nobel Prize and Rabindra Nath Tagore was the first Indian to receive Nobel Prize.

2014 Nobel Prize in Physics

Isamu Akasaki (Japan), Hiroshi Amano(Japan) and Shuji Nakamura(Japan) “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources”.

2014 Nobel Prize in Medicine

John O’Keefe(UK), May-Britt Moser(Norway) and Edvard I. Moser(Norway) “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain”.

2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Eric Betzig(US), Stefan W. Hell(Germany) and William E. Moerner(US) “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”.

2014 Nobel Prize in Peace

Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education”.

2014 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Jean Tirole(French) “for his analysis of market power and regulation”.

2014 Nobel Prize in Literature

Patrick Modiano (French) “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation”.

Leave a Comment